Skip to content

Help. Can you identify this mysterious hat logo?

11/23/2014
I bought this mysterious hat at the Orono Thrift store. Can you identify the logo?

I bought this mysterious hat at the Orono Thrift store. Can you identify the logo?

I found this hat at the Orono Thrift store last Saturday. That’s all I know about it.

Someone thought it was a vintage bike hat. I’m not sure. What the heck is the logo? Does anyone know? If we could identify the logo we could confirm the bike hat theory.

No one at the thrift store knew anything about it.

The Orono Thrift Store is located on the second floor of an old town hall building. It’s only open on Wednesdays and Saturdays. The place is always busy on Saturday. Both with shoppers and volunteers.

During my 30-minute visit, I found some 45 records in a box. Grabbed a couple of kitchen utensils and found an old Green Bay Packers knit hat. Then I looked on a shelf above the children’s t-shirts. The mystery hat was displayed on a clear plastic fake head. It was the kind of clear plastic fake head a department store might use to sell expensive ear muffs or French berets.

In a thrift store it looked like a space alien trying to keep warm.

I asked a lady with a loaded shopping cart if she knew anything about the hat. I assumed she was volunteer store stocker.

“I dunno. I was looking at that too.”  she said. “It looks vintage.”

“Has it been here awhile?” I asked.

“I don’t work here,” she said. “I’m shopping.”

I grabbed the hat.

Later, a real volunteer store stocker handed me a button down cotton sweater. She said it would fit me. It looked almost new.

“I’ll take it,” I said.

“Really?” said the volunteer store stocker. She seemed surprised.

I brought my items to the check out lady in a room adjacent to the stairway. She was standing behind a long cafeteria table. The lady was tiny but had a voice as strong as a church lector. She had been loudly gossiping and bad mouthing various locals with a guy sitting under a bulletin board.

None of my items had price tags. I told the check out lady a sign said the records were 5 for $1.

“Not when I’m taking the money,” she said. She looked over my pile of stuff.

“$3.50.” she said.

“For everything?”

“Ya.”

I gave her a five dollar bill and told her to keep the change.

I was afraid to ask her anything about the hat.

From → Biking, People, Thrifting

3 Comments
  1. Dave Bonko permalink

    Any manufacturer tags inside?

    db

  2. No tags. One reader guessed it might be a USA bobsled team logo. Could be.

  3. Could it be a version of the 1980 Lake Placid (Winter Olympics) Logo?

    http://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2009/03/39-olympic-logos-from-1924-to-2012/

Leave a Reply

Revisiting Montana's Historic Landscape

30 Years in the Big Sky Country

RoadsideArchitecture.com -- the companion blog

roadtrips & posts documenting vintage signs, statues, buildings, and more

Outside In Duluth

Outdoor. Kid. Fun.

Digital Storytelling | University of Minnesota Duluth

Featuring student work from the University of Minnesota Duluth Journalism program.

Laura's Birding Blog

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Outdoors with Sam Cook

Exploring the North Woods

365 Days of Birds

Duluth, Minnesota based birder / photographer. Sax-Zim Bog naturalist.

Mark in Maine

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Ed's Big Adventure

He farms! He writes! He paints!

Zenith City Online

Celebrating Historic Duluth, Western Lake Superior & Minnesota's Arrowhead

Perfect Duluth Day

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Time to play b-sides

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Digital Nomad

Travel Dispatches from Robert Reid

SUBSTREET

history under ground

Czechesotans

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Little Brown Mushroom

Little Brown Mushroom

Penobscot Marine Museum

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

