Skip to content

A lobster lesson for prairie dwellers

06/24/2014

2014-06-23 15.00.19

Maine tourism icons have a very long reach. I found these placemats at a church rummage sale last week in St. Paul. Now I’m hungry for a good lobster roll and a visit to the Old Port.

Anybody who knows me, knows I love junk shopping. I was less than five minutes into a bike ride Friday when I passed the annual Bethel Lutheran Church rummage sale on Wheelock Parkway. Furniture was strewn across the front yard and shoppers parked in the street like they were late for a wedding.

I’ve made some major scores at Bethel Lutheran in the past: A white ceramic swag lamp shaped like a basketball, a goalie stick and a stack of plastic letters for a portable advertising sign to name a few. I had to stop the ride even though I hadn’t even broken into a sweat.

Bethel Lutheran fills its basement with tables of knickknacks, kitchen supplies, books and electronics. Hardware and clothes overflow into a hallway and three other rooms. It’s cheap and always busy. I ran into neighbor Dennis at the sale. He thought I was working it. “No, I’m shopping,” I said. “I’m looking for deals.”

But I was off my game – late to the sale and riding only two wheels. I passed on the round wicker chair for $10. It was old but it wouldn’t fit on the bike rack. I focused on smaller things. I discovered a pile of kitchen table placemats. I like to collect placemats. Cheap. Easy to haul & store. Useful. And sometimes you find the oddly beautiful or ironically funny.

This time, I found both.

2014-06-23 15.02.02

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Revisiting Montana's Historic Landscape

30 Years in the Big Sky Country

RoadsideArchitecture.com -- the companion blog

roadtrips & posts documenting vintage signs, statues, buildings, and more

Outside In Duluth

Outdoor. Kid. Fun.

Digital Storytelling | University of Minnesota Duluth

Featuring student work from the University of Minnesota Duluth Journalism program.

Laura's Birding Blog

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Outdoors with Sam Cook

Exploring the North Woods

365 Days of Birds

Duluth, Minnesota based birder / photographer. Sax-Zim Bog naturalist.

Mark in Maine

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Ed's Big Adventure

He farms! He writes! He paints!

Zenith City Online

Celebrating Historic Duluth, Western Lake Superior & Minnesota's Arrowhead

Perfect Duluth Day

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Time to play b-sides

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Digital Nomad

Travel Dispatches from Robert Reid

SUBSTREET

history under ground

Czechesotans

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Little Brown Mushroom

Little Brown Mushroom

Penobscot Marine Museum

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

