Skip to content

Dinner marred by rock n’ roll emergency

03/25/2013

Peter NooneThe L & H Cafe in downtown Rockland has some amazing hamburgers, a great beer list and a bright, colorful, modernist vibe but I couldn’t linger after our meal. As the waitress brought the check, I stood up, threw on my coat and glanced at Jen: “She’ll have to take care of this,” I said. “I’ve got an emergency.”

It was a rock n’ roll emergency.

Let me back up: Jen and I had just spent an hour at the Rockland Goodwill. A big, relatively new store built on land cut into a cliff north of town. The Rockland Goodwill has one of the biggest record selections I’ve ever seen in a thrift store. I’m talking about a wall full of record albums, cassette tapes and compact discs packed like the cereal aisle at a grocery store. It’s a place where I always find great music.

During our visit, Jen searched for vintage clothes and knickknacks. I cracked my knees and stressed my back plowing through piles of bottom shelf record albums. I was in search of forgotten gems or mint condition classics. I wound up with too many.

I picked 15 albums but decided I only needed 10. At $2 a pop, price wasn’t an issue…my self-imposed limit was due to home storage and listening time. Where am I going to put all these things and do I really need to listen to this Pointer Sisters album?

I made my final cuts and we took off for dinner downtown. But I had a bad feeling.

At the restaurant,  I begged Jen to fire up her iPhone and call up an Internet music encyclopedia. She could search for the albums I left behind. What did the critics think? Were the rejected records any good? Were they lost masterpieces? How good or bad was that 1978 Journey album?

Jen looked at her screen.

“Uh ohhhh,” she said.

She read the entry for “One of the Glory Boys,” a 1982 album by Peter Noone…a record I left with a pile of rejects in the Goodwill furniture department:

“Peter Noone’s “One of the Glory Boys” has become a highly collectible vinyl recording fetching honorable numbers on e-Bay. If ever there was a great lost album by an artist that has sold in the tens of millions, this is the one. It is brilliant.”

If you grew up on 60’s rock n’ roll, listened to oldies radio or watched  commercials on TV,  you’ve heard the music of Herman’s Hermits. “I’m into Something Good,””I’m Henery the Eighth, I Am,” and  “Mrs. Brown, You’ve got a Lovely Daughter,” were their biggest hits. But the lead singer of Herman’s Hermits wasn’t Herman.

It was Peter Noone.

Because I’m a record geek, I know these things. Because I’m an idiot, I didn’t buy his “great lost album” for $2.

Thus, the “rock n’ roll” emergency, a sprint over an icy downtown sidewalk to a frozen car and a race – slowed only by slick roads –  back to the Goodwill out on the highway.

I got there 20 minutes before its 8 p.m. closing.

Peter Noone was still in the furniture department.

It’s a pretty good album, almost as good as an L&H Cafe Cowboy burger, fries and dessert.

10 Comments
  1. Jen permalink

    In case any of you are wondering, I fully supported this “rock-n-roll” emergency and was happy to stay behind to pay our tab. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Goodwill Hoarding and commented:
    awesome! I have totally had insane record finds at goodwill. My whole (and complete) Blondie collection was scored at various goodwills.

  3. I’ve found so many of my favorite albums at Goodwill! I’m sure it was worth the stress you put on your joints 🙂

  4. Peter Noone. I knew this trivia bit. My guy sings Henery the Eighth to annoy my daughters. Great find.

  5. Moral of the story: Fire up the iPhone IN the store.

  6. Love his music, glad you found and awesome beer and burger place!
    🙂

  7. Em Rankin permalink

    Frugality remorse is the worst! Good thing no other record geeks snatched up Mr. Noone…

  8. I met Peter Noone. I think I was like 8 and I didn’t really get it but my mom recognized him and almost had a heart attack. Great story about record-buying remorse (and redemption). Cheers – CT

  9. Bill Huntzicker permalink

    Great story. I did not know Peter Noone’s name, but I’ll bet I know all the words to Herman’s Hermits’ “I’m into Something Good,””I’m Henery the Eighth, I Am,” and “Mrs. Brown, You’ve got a Lovely Daughter,” as well as “Don’t Know Much about History.”

  10. Bill Huntzicker permalink

    Don’t know much about history is probably called something else, like “Wonderful World.” “I do know that I love you and I know that if you love me, too, what a wonderful world this would be.” That’s the knowledge that would be better than history, trigonometry, etc. Anyway, you’re taking me back to pleasant memories.

Leave a Reply

Revisiting Montana's Historic Landscape

30 Years in the Big Sky Country

RoadsideArchitecture.com -- the companion blog

roadtrips & posts documenting vintage signs, statues, buildings, and more

Outside In Duluth

Outdoor. Kid. Fun.

Digital Storytelling | University of Minnesota Duluth

Featuring student work from the University of Minnesota Duluth Journalism program.

Laura's Birding Blog

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Outdoors with Sam Cook

Exploring the North Woods

365 Days of Birds

Duluth, Minnesota based birder / photographer. Sax-Zim Bog naturalist.

Mark in Maine

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Ed's Big Adventure

He farms! He writes! He paints!

Zenith City Online

Celebrating Historic Duluth, Western Lake Superior & Minnesota's Arrowhead

Perfect Duluth Day

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Time to play b-sides

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Digital Nomad

Travel Dispatches from Robert Reid

SUBSTREET

history under ground

Czechesotans

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Little Brown Mushroom

Little Brown Mushroom

Penobscot Marine Museum

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

