Skip to content

Irish cupcake controversy

03/17/2013
An Irish Car Bomb cupcake

An Irish Car Bomb cupcake

I’m not a big fan of cupcakes or whiskey so I was surprised to learn about a desert treat based on a specialty drink using Irish liquor and named after an infamous terrorist act.

I guess I’m not much of an Irishman.

It’s been a challenge to find good bakery in Bangor. Like most places, the grocery stores have a limited selection of mass-produced, unremarkable baked goods; and on the east coast, Dunkin’ Donuts and Tim Horton’s have ruined most ma and pa bakeries like McDonald’s and Burger King have crushed the Mac’s Dinettes and Porky’s Drive Ins of the world.

So last fall, I was excited to hear about Frank’s Bake Shop, a cozy, family run bakery located on a busy street in downtown Bangor. The place has been around for decades.

I incorporated a stop at Frank’s into one of my bike rides. I was in search of good cookies… but I stepped into a cupcake controversy.

As I waited at the counter in my lime-green jacket and black biking shorts, a lady appeared from the kitchen. She placed a tray of cupcakes in front of me.

“Try one of these,” she said.

They looked delicious. I picked one up, peeled away the paper and took a bite. It featured creamy white frosting on top and a chocolate pudding center. Yum.

“It’s an Irish Car Bomb,” the lady said.

“OK. What’s that?”

“It’s  made with Jameson, Guinness and Bailey’s Irish Creme. An Irish Car Bomb. Pretty good, huh?

I made a crack about being Irish so I HAD to love it and thanked her for the free sample. I ordered a dozen cookies and went on my way.

Later, while enjoying a tasty but expensive cookie, I thought about the Irish cupcakes.

Sure, there’s a drink called the Irish Car Bomb using the same liquor and beer recipe and I get the joke…Irish booze, dropping the shot glass, stiff drink, getting bombed, ha ha. But what’s  funny in the barroom doesn’t seem to work in the bakery.

Maybe it’s because people are usually sober in a bakery.

I’m sure Irish Car Bomb cupcakes are popular at Frank’s and bakeries all over the country. I’m guessing they’re not very popular in London, England or Belfast, Ireland.

It’s sad but I suppose some stereotypes will stick with the Irish for a long time.

Here’s a link to an Irish Car Bomb cupcake recipe. It has more than 500 comments and they’re not discussing how much sugar to use. It’s good reading on this St. Patrick’s Day.

Especially if you’re lucky enough to  live near Jerabek’s New Bohemian … and have a plate of their fantastic peanut butter cookies at your side.

3 Comments
  1. Mollie M permalink

    I agree–not a good name for the cupcake. It does sound tasty though.
    Will you be doing a kolache review soon?

  2. Em Rankin permalink

    Ooh – I haven’t thought about Jerabek’s in a long time… must go!

    I had a salted nut roll cupcake at Piece of Cake recently and it was yummy. I think I might like liquor in cupcakes, though…

  3. dcc permalink

    Carbomb likely refers to ira terrorists or nationalists if you prefer… It,s likely an ugly slur.

    Love the blog. Dcarberry

Leave a Reply

Revisiting Montana's Historic Landscape

30 Years in the Big Sky Country

RoadsideArchitecture.com -- the companion blog

roadtrips & posts documenting vintage signs, statues, buildings, and more

Outside In Duluth

Outdoor. Kid. Fun.

Digital Storytelling | University of Minnesota Duluth

Featuring student work from the University of Minnesota Duluth Journalism program.

Laura's Birding Blog

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Outdoors with Sam Cook

Exploring the North Woods

365 Days of Birds

Duluth, Minnesota based birder / photographer. Sax-Zim Bog naturalist.

Mark in Maine

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Ed's Big Adventure

He farms! He writes! He paints!

Zenith City Online

Celebrating Historic Duluth, Western Lake Superior & Minnesota's Arrowhead

Perfect Duluth Day

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Time to play b-sides

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Digital Nomad

Travel Dispatches from Robert Reid

SUBSTREET

history under ground

Czechesotans

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

Little Brown Mushroom

Little Brown Mushroom

Penobscot Marine Museum

What happens when a Twin Cities townie follows his wife into the woods?

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

